St. Andrews News
News Photo
Breno Calegari
Men's Soccer - Tue, Oct. 2, 2012 by Troy Baranik

West Point, GA - The St. Andrews Men's soccer team routed the Point University Skyhawks 5-1 Tuesday evening in West Point, GA in an AAC contest.

Led by goalkeeper Andrew Pelfrey's saves and goals by Caio Liberatti, Martin Phillips, and Filipe Checco, who was making his season debut, SAU went on to crush the Skyhawks and earn their first Appalachian Athletic Conference win in school history.

SAU outshot the Skyhawks 13-5 during the game led by Edwin Mwangi's 4 shots and Checco's 2 shots on goal.

The goal by Liberatti was his 4th of the year and Phillips' second. Daniel Acland and Matthew Horner also scored for the Knights on the day as SAU's offense finally broke through and had a big output. This was Acland's second goal of the year as well.

Assisting on the five goals were Liberatti, Checco, Ben Farwell, Horner, and Andy Zimiso Stewart.

St. Andrews improves to 3-6 and 1-3 in the conference while Point falls to 3-10 and 0-6 in the conference.

St. Andrews next takes on the Montreat Cavaliers here at Knights field. The match kicks off on Saturday, October 6 at 2 PM.

 
photo
Upcoming Events
Friday, Aug 15
Volleyball
St. Andrews at 1:00pm
Sandhills CC EST
Thursday, Aug 21
Women's Soccer
NC Alliance at 6:00pm
St. Andrews EST
Friday, Aug 22
Men's Soccer
St. Andrews at 7:00pm
UNC-Pembroke EST
Sunday, Aug 24
JV Volleyball
St. Andrews at  
Brunswick CC  
Monday, Aug 25
Women's Soccer
University of South Carolina Lancaster at 4:00pm
St. Andrews EST
Wednesday, Aug 27
Men's Soccer
St. Andrews at 7:00pm
Coker College EST
Saturday, Aug 30
Women's Soccer
Barton College at 2:00pm
St. Andrews EST
Wednesday, Sep 3
Volleyball
Meredith College at 6:30pm
St. Andrews EST
Thursday, Sep 4
Men's Soccer
St. Andrews at 6:00pm
Southern Wesleyan University EST
Friday, Sep 5
Women's Soccer
St. Andrews at 5:00pm
University of South Carolina - Beaufort EST