St. Andrews News
News Photo
Men's Wrestling - Tue, Oct. 29, 2013 by Troy Baranik

TEAMS:  BELMONT ABBEY- ST. ANDREWS-UNC-PEMBROKE

     Three collegiate wrestling teams, Belmont Abbey and UNCP in the NCAA Div. II, and St. Andrews University in the NAIA, are all located along route 74.  To add some extra spice to these dual meets, Coach Joe Baranik of SAU came up with the idea to institute a traveling trophy called "The War on 74 Trophy."  Coach Othello Johnson at UNCP and Coach Kenn Caudell at BA agreed.  "I am hoping these epic matches turn into great rivalries for the wrestlers and the fans and bring more exposure to our programs" stated Coach Baranik. The trophy is sort of like the Commander-and-Chief Trophy that the Military Academies compete for.  SAU Athletic Director Glenn Batten stated that "any time we can get our athletes exposure in a positive way, that is a good thing."

     2013-14 will be the inaugural season.  A name plate recognizing the winner will be placed on the trophy and the school that wins both dual meets will keep the trophy at their school until the three teams meet again the following year.  If each team wins one of the dual meets, the team who scores the most points in both duals will break the criteria and win the "War on 74 Trophy."

 

The matchups between these three teams this season are as follows:

Wednesday, Nov. 6- St. Andrews at Belmont Abbey- 1pm (outside)

Thursday, Nov. 21- Belmont Abbey at UNCP- 7 pm

Wednesday, Feb. 5- St. Andrews at UNCP- 7 pm

 
photo
Upcoming Events
Friday, Aug 15
Volleyball
St. Andrews at 1:00pm
Sandhills CC EST
Thursday, Aug 21
Women's Soccer
NC Alliance at 6:00pm
St. Andrews EST
Friday, Aug 22
Men's Soccer
St. Andrews at 7:00pm
UNC-Pembroke EST
Sunday, Aug 24
JV Volleyball
St. Andrews at  
Brunswick CC  
Monday, Aug 25
Women's Soccer
University of South Carolina Lancaster at 4:00pm
St. Andrews EST
Wednesday, Aug 27
Men's Soccer
St. Andrews at 7:00pm
Coker College EST
Saturday, Aug 30
Women's Soccer
Barton College at 2:00pm
St. Andrews EST
Wednesday, Sep 3
Volleyball
Meredith College at 6:30pm
St. Andrews EST
Thursday, Sep 4
Men's Soccer
St. Andrews at 6:00pm
Southern Wesleyan University EST
Friday, Sep 5
Women's Soccer
St. Andrews at 5:00pm
University of South Carolina - Beaufort EST