St. Andrews News
News Photo
Anne Patterson
Volleyball - Fri, Sep. 27, 2013 by Troy Baranik

Laurinburg, NC-- The St. Andrews Volleyball team was on their way to their 7th win of the year until losing a 6 point lead late in the 4th set to fall 29-27 before dropping a heart-wrenching fifth set 15-12 Friday night in Laurinburg.

SAU won two of the first 3 sets by convincing margins 25-10 and 25-12, but could not seem to put away the pesky Skyhawks in the latter two sets as Point took the second set by a 25-14 margin. Sophomore Sierra Barnedo also served well as she won 11 consecutive points on her serve in the first set and had 3 aces on the night.

SAU falls to 6-10 with the loss and 2-6 in the conference while Point improves to 7-8 and 2-4.

The Knights were led by Kendelyn Wheaton's 16 kills on 20 attempts, 3 blocks, and 3 aces and Anne Patterson's very impressive perfect night of 15 kills on 15 attempts and two blocks. Freshman Setter Sullivan Owens led with 29 assists while senior libero Ayanna Lindborg led with 23 digs as well. Junior hitter Taylor Clay also had a good night with 9 kills and 3 blocks.

SAU hosts Union College Saturday at 1 pm.

 
photo
Upcoming Events
Friday, Aug 15
Volleyball
St. Andrews at 1:00pm
Sandhills CC EST
Thursday, Aug 21
Women's Soccer
NC Alliance at 6:00pm
St. Andrews EST
Friday, Aug 22
Men's Soccer
St. Andrews at 7:00pm
UNC-Pembroke EST
Sunday, Aug 24
JV Volleyball
St. Andrews at  
Brunswick CC  
Monday, Aug 25
Women's Soccer
University of South Carolina Lancaster at 4:00pm
St. Andrews EST
Wednesday, Aug 27
Men's Soccer
St. Andrews at 7:00pm
Coker College EST
Saturday, Aug 30
Women's Soccer
Barton College at 2:00pm
St. Andrews EST
Wednesday, Sep 3
Volleyball
Meredith College at 6:30pm
St. Andrews EST
Thursday, Sep 4
Men's Soccer
St. Andrews at 6:00pm
Southern Wesleyan University EST
Friday, Sep 5
Women's Soccer
St. Andrews at 5:00pm
University of South Carolina - Beaufort EST