St. Andrews News
News Photo
Jason Payne
Men's Basketball - Mon, May. 6, 2013 by Troy Baranik

St. Andrews University head men's basketball coach Andrew Brown has signed Jason Payne, a 6'2 Wing player from Lee County High School in Sanford, NC to an athletic scholarship to play for the Knights next season.  

Payne was a very underrated high school player that excelled in a variety of areas at Lee County High School. He was selected to the all-tournament team in the Lee County Christmas Invitational, made the academic all-conference team, and currently has a 3.6 G.P.A.

In addition, he led his team in 3-pt. field goals made and averaged 10 ppg. and 7 rebounds per contest.

Coach Brown stated that "Jason has a unique ability to get his hands on a lot of deflections and showed this year that he can defend on the perimeter. He is a very good defender with a good wing span that will assist with our perimeter defense next season.  Also, he can stretch a defense with his ability to shoot the basketball from long range."   

 
photo
Upcoming Events
Friday, Aug 15
Volleyball
St. Andrews at 1:00pm
Sandhills CC EST
Monday, Aug 18
Women's Soccer
Cape Fear CC at 4:00pm
St. Andrews EST
Thursday, Aug 21
Women's Soccer
NC Alliance at 6:00pm
St. Andrews EST
Friday, Aug 22
Men's Soccer
St. Andrews at 7:00pm
UNC-Pembroke EST
Sunday, Aug 24
JV Volleyball
St. Andrews at  
Brunswick CC  
Monday, Aug 25
Women's Soccer
University of South Carolina Lancaster at 4:00pm
St. Andrews EST
Wednesday, Aug 27
Men's Soccer
St. Andrews at 7:00pm
Coker College EST
Friday, Aug 29
Men's Cross Country
St. Andrews at  
St. Andrews Invitational
Women's Cross Country
St. Andrews at  
St. Andrews Invitational
Saturday, Aug 30
Women's Soccer
Barton College at 2:00pm
St. Andrews EST