St. Andrews News
Men's Basketball - Wed, Feb. 13, 2013 by Troy Baranik

Bristol, VA-- The St. Andrews Men's Basketball team then challenged the Virginia Intermont Cobras on the road last evening and could not keep pace as they fell 114-75 in their last conference game of the season.

 

SAU finishes 1-15 in the league and is 1-23 overall and will now play one more tune-up game vs. Morris College in the Knights home finale on Monday Feb. 18 at 7:30 pm where they will also be honoring their seniors Orlando Edwards and Demetrius Monroe. They will then prepare for the AAC conference tournament which begins next Wednesday, Feb. 20 at 3:30 pm in Kingsport, TN where SAU will be facing Montreat College in a first round matchup.

St. Andrews was led by freshman guard Mark Chinn's big game of 19 points while junior forward Alem Peljto contributed 12 points on 4 of 9 shooting from 3-point range. Chinn was 6 of 8 from the field and 6 of 7 from the free throw line as he carried the offense and now has averaged 12 points/game in his last 4 games. Chris Orr was again in double figures with 11 points and another outstanding game of 6 blocks!

Orr now ranks 14th in NAIA Division 2 with 51 blocks and 10th in blocks/game with 2.13.

St. Andrews shot much better in the second half as they scored 42 points on 42% shooting. However, VIC (13-15, 7-8) shot an unbeatable 66.7 % in the second half as they put up 59 points and made 8 three-pointers overall, (6 in second half). The Cobras had 5 men in double figures including a game-high of 27 from forward Dalec Cromwell and 26 points from forward Josh Hart. They each had double-doubles as well with Cromwell leading with 14 rebounds.

 
photo
Upcoming Events
Monday, Aug 22
JV Volleyball
Wednesday, Aug 24
JV Volleyball
Friday, Aug 26
Men's Soccer
Saturday, Aug 27
Men's Soccer
Tuesday, Aug 30
Volleyball
Wednesday, Aug 31
JV Volleyball
Friday, Sep 2
Volleyball
Saturday, Sep 3
Men's Cross Country