St. Andrews News
News Photo
the three seniors
Women's Basketball - Sat, Feb. 9, 2013 by Troy Baranik

Laurinburg, NC- The St. Andrews University women's basketball team dropped a hard-fought bout to Bryan College Saturday afternoon 63-53 on senior day at Harris Court.

Senior guard Benee Norton led all players with 27 points and also led the Knights with 9 rebounds as she had a great performance and helped keep SAU in it throughout. Norton has now averaged 16.4 points/game in her last 7 games.

However, she did not get much help as no other Lady Knights could get into double-figures with fellow senior Kimayah Fulcher scoring 9 points with 7 rebounds. Norton shot 50% for the game (11 for22) while the team shot 40% in the first half, but only 27% in the second half as they could not quite catch the Lady Lions.

Bryan shot 36% overall for the game and led 27-16 with about 4 minutes to go in the first half before St. Andrews closed the half on a 10-0 run to cut their lead to one. However, that is as close as SAU could get.

Bryan was led by guard Morgan Burnette's 19 points and 10 rebounds and forward Jenna Ray's 18 points and 13 boards. No other Lion was in double-figures.

The Lady Knights drop to 3-22 and 1-15 while Bryan improves to 16-10 and 10-6. SAU will next travel to Virginia Intermont College on Feb. 13 for a 5:30 pm tip-off.

 
photo
Upcoming Events
Friday, Aug 15
Volleyball
St. Andrews at 1:00pm
Sandhills CC EST
Thursday, Aug 21
Women's Soccer
NC Alliance at 6:00pm
St. Andrews EST
Friday, Aug 22
Men's Soccer
St. Andrews at 7:00pm
UNC-Pembroke EST
Sunday, Aug 24
JV Volleyball
St. Andrews at  
Brunswick CC  
Monday, Aug 25
Women's Soccer
University of South Carolina Lancaster at 4:00pm
St. Andrews EST
Wednesday, Aug 27
Men's Soccer
St. Andrews at 7:00pm
Coker College EST
Saturday, Aug 30
Women's Soccer
Barton College at 2:00pm
St. Andrews EST
Wednesday, Sep 3
Volleyball
Meredith College at 6:30pm
St. Andrews EST
Thursday, Sep 4
Men's Soccer
St. Andrews at 6:00pm
Southern Wesleyan University EST
Friday, Sep 5
Women's Soccer
St. Andrews at 5:00pm
University of South Carolina - Beaufort EST