St. Andrews News
Women's Basketball - Thu, Feb. 7, 2013 by Troy Baranik

Montreat, NC- The St. Andrews University men's and women's basketball teams lost both games against Montreat Wednesday evening with the women falling 79-53 and the men losing 106-83.

Senior guard Benee Norton again led the Lady Knights with 14 points on 5 of 9 shooting while freshman forward Alexus Davis led with 8 rebounds and had 6 points. Freshman guard Mercedes Smith led with 3 assists with fellow guard Danielle Childress contributing 8 points.

Both teams struggled from behind the three-point line but they both excelled from behind the free throw line with Montreat only missing two freebies. Montreat was led by the double-double of Laticia Singleton who had 10 points and 12 boards while center Ali Gellman and guard Ekaterina Sharova both had 16 apiece.

The Lady Knights drop to 3-21 and 1-13 while the Lady Cavs improve to 16-11 and 6-9 in conference. SAU will next return home for senior day this Saturday at 12 pm where they will honor their three seniors, Kimayah Fulcher, Benee Norton, and Rachel Hewitt.

 
photo
Upcoming Events
Friday, Aug 15
Volleyball
St. Andrews at 1:00pm
Sandhills CC EST
Monday, Aug 18
Women's Soccer
Cape Fear CC at 4:00pm
St. Andrews EST
Thursday, Aug 21
Women's Soccer
NC Alliance at 6:00pm
St. Andrews EST
Friday, Aug 22
Men's Soccer
St. Andrews at 7:00pm
UNC-Pembroke EST
Sunday, Aug 24
JV Volleyball
St. Andrews at  
Brunswick CC  
Monday, Aug 25
Women's Soccer
University of South Carolina Lancaster at 4:00pm
St. Andrews EST
Wednesday, Aug 27
Men's Soccer
St. Andrews at 7:00pm
Coker College EST
Friday, Aug 29
Men's Cross Country
St. Andrews at  
St. Andrews Invitational
Women's Cross Country
St. Andrews at  
St. Andrews Invitational
Saturday, Aug 30
Women's Soccer
Barton College at 2:00pm
St. Andrews EST