St. Andrews News
News Photo
Alexus Davis
Women's Basketball - Wed, Jan. 23, 2013 by Troy Baranik

Laurinburg, NC- The St. Andrews Women's basketball team lost a hard-fought game to the Union Bulldogs Wednesday evening 75-46 at Harris Court.

Union was led by the impressive game of center Lydia Nash who had a monster game of 36 points and 6 rebounds on an astounding 15 of 16 from the field. Haley Perkins also led the Lady Bulldogs with 11 points and 4 assists.

The Knights were led by senior guard Benee Norton's 14 points and team leading 7 rebounds. SAU also was 4 of 7 from behind-the-arc as junior guard Rachel Hewitt made 2 of them as part of her 8 points while freshman guard Danielle Childress made 2 as well.

Union shot 52% overall from the field and an impressive 65% in the second half. However, they struggled from 3 point range. The Knights were 32% overall shooting and 57% from three.

St. Andrews falls to 3-16 with the loss and 1-9 in the league while the formerly ranked Bulldogs improve to 7-3 in conference and 14-6 overall.

The Lady Knights will now make the long trek to west Georgia to battle a struggling Point University team on Saturday at 1 pm.

 
photo
Upcoming Events
Friday, Aug 15
Volleyball
St. Andrews at 1:00pm
Sandhills CC EST
Monday, Aug 18
Women's Soccer
Cape Fear CC at 4:00pm
St. Andrews EST
Thursday, Aug 21
Women's Soccer
NC Alliance at 6:00pm
St. Andrews EST
Friday, Aug 22
Men's Soccer
St. Andrews at 7:00pm
UNC-Pembroke EST
Sunday, Aug 24
JV Volleyball
St. Andrews at  
Brunswick CC  
Monday, Aug 25
Women's Soccer
University of South Carolina Lancaster at 4:00pm
St. Andrews EST
Wednesday, Aug 27
Men's Soccer
St. Andrews at 7:00pm
Coker College EST
Friday, Aug 29
Men's Cross Country
St. Andrews at  
St. Andrews Invitational
Women's Cross Country
St. Andrews at  
St. Andrews Invitational
Saturday, Aug 30
Women's Soccer
Barton College at 2:00pm
St. Andrews EST