St. Andrews News
News Photo
Women's Basketball - Sat, Jan. 12, 2013 by Troy Baranik

Dayton, TN—The St. Andrews University women's basketball team put up a great fight today in Tennessee, but came up short in their conference battle against Bryan College 62-44.

The Lady Knights played great defense in the second half for the second consecutive game as they only lost by 1 point in that half. SAU was led by freshman forward Alexus Davis' double-double of 16 points and 10 rebounds and freshman guard Mercedes Smith's solid game of 8 points, 8 rebounds, and 2 steals.

The Lady Knights also outrebounded their opponent in a losing effort again this season as SAU had 43 to the Lady Lions' 41. Bryan was able to shoot better from 3 point range than SAU and played very well on defense forcing the Knights to take tough shots. However, the Lady Knights did have a better shooting percentage in the second half than the Lions.

Bryan was led by the impressive game of guard Morgan Burnette who had a double-double of 24 points and 10 rebounds.

SAU falls to 3-13 on the season and 1-6 in the AAC while Bryan improved to 9-7 and 4-3.

St. Andrews next returns home this Wednesday, January 16 at 5:30 pm vs. Virginia Intermont College.

 
photo
Upcoming Events
Thursday, May 5
Men's Lacrosse
St. Andrews vs 1:00 pm
Missouri Valley College EST
NAIA Invitational Quarterfinals
Monday, May 9
Baseball
St. Andrews vs 9:00 am
Union College EST
AAC Tournament
Live Stats
Tuesday, May 10
Baseball
St. Andrews vs  
Conference Tourney  
Saturday, Aug 20
Volleyball
St. Andrews at  
Catawba College  
Monday, Aug 22
JV Volleyball
Vance Granville CC at 4:00 pm
St. Andrews EST
Vance Granville CC at 5:30 pm
St. Andrews EST
Wednesday, Aug 24
JV Volleyball
St. Andrews at 4:00 pm
Wake Technical CC EST
Saturday, Aug 27
Volleyball
St. Andrews at  
UNC-Pembroke  
Tuesday, Aug 30
Volleyball
St. Andrews at 6:30 pm
Columbia College EST
Wednesday, Aug 31
JV Volleyball
Sandhills CC at 6:00 pm
St. Andrews EST