St. Andrews News
News Photo
Men's Basketball - Sat, Dec. 29, 2012 by Troy Baranik

Hartsville, SC—The St. Andrews University Men's basketball team fell in a very hard-fought game 87-73 at Coker College Saturday evening in SAU's first game back after the break.

 

Freshman point guard DJ Carnegie led the Knights with 21 points while making 3 three-pointers on 40% shooting and also had 4 steals. Junior guard Clavontae Brown had 12 points on 5 of 11 shooting and a team leading 9 rebounds. Freshman center Chris Orr got 6 rebounds and 12 points on 71% shooting while sophomore forward Marquie Smith had 13 points on 60% shooting and 5 rebounds.

SAU, however, held their own through the game shooting an even and very respectable 50% from the field while Coker was at a similar pace at 52%. St. Andrews also out rebounded the Cobras 34-29.

The Knights played a very aggressive first half and hustled after every loose ball and rebound to only trail by one 36-37 going into the half.

SAU drops to 0-10 on the season while Coker, an NCAA Div. 2 team and former conference rival improves to 4-4.

St. Andrews next returns home this Thursday, January 3 at 7:30 pm vs. Milligan College (Tenn.).

Please come out and support your Knights in their first game of the new year!

 
photo
Upcoming Events
Thursday, May 5
Men's Lacrosse
(7)St. Andrews vs 1:00 pm
(2)Missouri Valley College EST
NAIA Invitational Quarterfinals
Live Video
Monday, May 9
Baseball
St. Andrews vs 9:00 am
Union College EST
AAC Tournament
Live Stats
Tuesday, May 10
Baseball
St. Andrews vs  
Conference Tourney  
Saturday, Aug 20
Volleyball
St. Andrews at  
Catawba College  
Monday, Aug 22
JV Volleyball
Vance Granville CC at 4:00 pm
St. Andrews EST
Vance Granville CC at 5:30 pm
St. Andrews EST
Wednesday, Aug 24
JV Volleyball
St. Andrews at 4:00 pm
Wake Technical CC EST
Saturday, Aug 27
Volleyball
St. Andrews at  
UNC-Pembroke  
Tuesday, Aug 30
Volleyball
St. Andrews at 6:30 pm
Columbia College EST
Wednesday, Aug 31
JV Volleyball
Sandhills CC at 6:00 pm
St. Andrews EST