St. Andrews News
News Photo
Orlando Edwards
Men's Basketball - Mon, Dec. 3, 2012 by Troy Baranik

Greenville, NC- The St. Andrews University men's basketball team lost their exhibition challenge to the East Carolina Pirates Tuesday evening 111-59.

Junior guard Clavontae Brown led the Knights with 18 points, 7 rebounds, and 3 steals while senior forward Demetrius Monroe contributed 14 points on 7 of 9 shooting.

 

ECU (6-1) pulled ahead in the first half with very hot 3 point shooting as they went 13 of 20 (65%) from behind the arc to run out to a 30 point halftime lead.

The Pirates cooled off a bit in the second half shooting only 44%, but still continued to shoot consistently well as their balanced scoring attack had 15 different players scoring baskets for them on this night.

SAU (0-8), however, did gain some great experience on this night as the young team was able to share the floor and learn from one of the better teams in NCAA Division 1.

St. Andrews will now enjoy a nice rest until traveling to Kentucky on Dec. 17 to face #4 Pikeville University in a rematch of the season opener won by the Bears. Pikeville is 11-1 this season and leads the NAIA in blocked shots.

 
photo
Upcoming Events
Friday, Aug 15
Volleyball
St. Andrews at 1:00pm
Sandhills CC EST
Thursday, Aug 21
Women's Soccer
NC Alliance at 6:00pm
St. Andrews EST
Friday, Aug 22
Men's Soccer
St. Andrews at 7:00pm
UNC-Pembroke EST
Sunday, Aug 24
JV Volleyball
St. Andrews at  
Brunswick CC  
Monday, Aug 25
Women's Soccer
University of South Carolina Lancaster at 4:00pm
St. Andrews EST
Wednesday, Aug 27
Men's Soccer
St. Andrews at 7:00pm
Coker College EST
Saturday, Aug 30
Women's Soccer
Barton College at 2:00pm
St. Andrews EST
Wednesday, Sep 3
Volleyball
Meredith College at 6:30pm
St. Andrews EST
Thursday, Sep 4
Men's Soccer
St. Andrews at 6:00pm
Southern Wesleyan University EST
Friday, Sep 5
Women's Soccer
St. Andrews at 5:00pm
University of South Carolina - Beaufort EST